Home > Conferences & symposia > Young Investigator Symposium > NRS 2nd Young Investigators Symposium

NRS 2nd Young Investigators Symposium

Date:  1st October 2010
Time:  Registration from 9.00-9.30, programme from 9.30-17.00
Place: Antropia conference center on “Landgoed de Reehorst”,
             Hoofdstraat 8, Driebergen (www.antropia.nl)
             For your TomTom use zippcode (postcode) 3972 KA of the NS station.
Public transport: opposite the train station Driebergen-Zeist                               

Final programme Young Investigator Symposium 1st October 2010

09.30-09.40  Introduction in the “Ionazaal”by dr. H.H. Smits

Plenary session 1: “Ionazaal”, chairmen: prof. dr. P.S. Hiemstra and prof. dr. P.J. Sterk
09.40-10.20  Genome-wide arrays   Prof. A.Uitterlinden (Rotterdam)
10.20-11.00  VOCs                               Prof. F.J. van Schooten (Maastricht)

11.00-11.30  Coffee break

Plenary session 2: “Ionazaal”, chairmen: prof. dr. E.F.M. Wouters and dr. R. Lutter
11.30-12.10  MicroRNA arrays          Prof. A.van den Berg (Groningen)
12.10-12.50  Proteomics                   Prof. G. Marko-Varga (Lund, Sweden)
12.50-13.30  Lunch

13.30-14.00:  “Ionazaal” for NRS members ALV

14.00-15.30 ‘Top’ workshops “Improvement of professional skills”

1. “(VENI-VIDI-VICI) grant applications: Enter, be seen and conquer, or, how do I get reviewers to think my project 
      is top!” room: “Chrysocolla”
      Prof. R.C. Jansen, Professor of Bioinformatics, Groningen, Author of ‘Developing a
      Talent for Science’
2. “Top-notch presentation techniques: selling your research” room: “Tourmalijn”  
      Dr. B. Hertz, trainer for scientists, Author of ‘Presenteren van Onderzoek’
3.  “Women to the Top: strategic networking”, “Ionazaal”
      Mr. M.C.J.  Smit, trainer for scientists

15.30-16.00 Tea/coffee break

Plenary session “Ionazaal”, chairman: prof. dr. D.S. Postma
16.10-16.50    Keynote lecture: Going to the Top:‘How to be successful’ 
                          Prof. R.C. Jansen (Groningen)

16.50-17.00:   Closing remarks by prof. dr. D.S. Postma