Home > News > Dutch researchers in respiratory medicine honou...

Dutch researchers in respiratory medicine honoured at the ERS Congress in Munich

General September 2014

The Fellow of the ERS awards were presented to 128 people 

During the ERS Congress in Munich, the Fellow of the ERS awards were presented to 128 people based on their publication record and contribution to respiratory medicine. The fact that 9 of these were Dutch researchers, is an indication of the important contribution of Dutch respiratory science to the field. The elected Dutch Fellows of the ERS are: Elisabeth Bel (Amsterdam), Bert Brunekreef (Utrecht), Jorrit Gerritsen (Groningen), Pieter Hiemstra (Leiden), Herman Meurs (Groningen), Dirkje Postma (Groningen), Annemie Schols (Maastricht), Peter Sterk (Amsterdam) and Emiel Wouters (Maastricht).
In addition, Pieter Hiemstra (Leiden) received the Assembly 3.0 “Cell and Molecular Biology” Achievement award 2014.

Several young Dutch scientists received grants and fellowships:
Grants for best abstracts:  Marlies Zwerink (Enschede) and Marjolein Engelkes (Bergschenhoek).
ERS Long-Term Research Fellowships: Marieke Leontine Duiverman and Paul Peeters
ERS PAH Fellowships: Esther Jeritza Nossent
Joint ERS/EU Marie Curie Post-Doctoral Research Fellowships: Alen Faiz (Groningen)
ERS joint Fellowships with European and National Societies: Bart Hilvering

Finally, during the ERS Congress Elisabeth Bel (Amsterdam) started her year as ERS President and presented her plans for the coming year.